iPhone users need to act fast because Apple is rolling out a big change to the Photos feature in July, the NY Post reports.
The tech giant has announced that next month it will permanently retire the My Photo Stream album that automatically stores photos taken in the last 30 days.
My Photo Stream stopped uploading photos on June 26, and all media in the album will be permanently deleted on July 26 — the day its services shut down.
However, iPhone users can search for these photos on iCloud for up to 30 days from the date they were uploaded. They will be available on devices where My Photo Stream is enabled.
How can you avoid losing your photos?
- Go to the My Photo Stream album in your Camera Roll.
- Save your photo to your device’s iCloud.
Apple notes on its support page that “the photos in My Photo Stream are already saved on at least one of your devices, so as long as you have your original device with you, you’re part of the process.” You won’t lose any image.” .
If you want a photo that isn’t in your library on your iPhone, iPad, or Mac device, you’ll need to save it to your library on that device. However, if you use iCloud, there is nothing to worry about.